Subscriber Login

Forgot Your Username?
Forgot Your Password?
Lake Forest champions
The Lake Forest Golf Club 2014 club champions include, from left, ladies scratch champion Karen Ander-  son, men’s scratch champion Bob Richardson, ladies handicap champion Kathy Simac, and men’s handicap champion Dave Jensen.  —Contributed Photo
Tuesday, August 19, 2014 1:19 PM
Shake A?Leg fun run set in Land O’ Lakes

A?five-mile?run/walk/bike will take place in Land O’ Lakes Saturday, Sept. 20, and will benefit the Amputee Blade Runners, a nonprofit organization that helps provide free running prosthetics for amputees.

Shake a Leg for Amputee Blade Runners will begin at 2 p.m. rain or shine at Black Oak Inn and will end at Brew’s Pub.

Race fees are $20 for early bird registrations postmarked by Friday, Aug. 29, or $25 for registrations postmarked after Aug. 29 or received the night before or day of the race.

Prerace activities are planned Friday, ?Sept. 19,

Tuesday, August 19, 2014 1:19 PM
Eagle River Pickleball Association begins improvements on courts
Some of the lady participants at the inaugural Eagle River Pickleball Tournament Aug. 2 included, from left, Diane Krieghoff, Dee Drymalski, Melody West, Ginny Shaker, Jane Athow, Judy Dow, Marsha Johnson and Karen Young. Missing from the photo was Sandie Hunt. In the women’s division, Athow took first, Johnson took second and West took third. For the men, it was Karl Athow taking first, Gary Carlton in second and John Biggs in third.                                     —Contributed Photo
By News-Review Staff

The Eagle River Pickleball Association has begun work repairing the Riverview Park playing courts, thanks to donations and help from the club members themselves and the city of Eagle River.

The Eagle River Council recently voted to allow the Eagle River Pickleball Association to take over the courts at the Riverview Park and use them for pickleball play.

Since the courts had large cracks in them,

Tuesday, August 12, 2014 1:38 PM
Upper Peninsula racers nearly sweep features at speedway

Street Stock racers from throughout Wisconsin and Michigan’s Upper Peninsula converged on the challenging one-third-mile tri-oval at Eagle River Speedway last Friday night for the fifth annual Jake Mullins Memorial Race.

Fourteen of the best in the class started the feature, but a five-car pile up on the hairpin third turn knocked out the winner of the second heat race — and one of the favorites to win the feature — Glenwood City’s Ron Han­nestad.

With the field down to 11 drivers, the large turnout of fans still didn’t know who would be the favorite.

As the race wound down, it turned out to be a bumper-to-bumper,

Tuesday, August 12, 2014 1:38 PM
Pines Hall of Fame sets induction night

The Eagle River/Northland Pines High School ­Athletic Hall of Fame Committee announced it will induct a stand-out athlete, a golf coach, a long-time sports supporter and a football team to the hall Friday, Aug. 22.

The athlete to be inducted is 1985 graduate Dennis Snedden, along with former golf coach Rollie Christensen and supporter Jerry “Bucky” Burkett. They will be joined by the 1981 football team at the 2014 induction ceremony and other festivities.

The hall of fame committee invites friends, classmates

Tuesday, August 12, 2014 1:37 PM