Eagle River’s Bruce Belland made his first trip back to his hometown race track a successful one.

Piloting an International Motor Contest Association (IMCA)-legal sportmod amid several WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds, Belland snagged the lead after an early race restart and fought off fellow hometown racer Ty Springer and Jimmy “the Blade” Randall to capture the 25-lap B Mod shootout at Eagle River Speedway worth $1,000.

The event’s first caution flew on lap four when race leader Michael Truscott of Chippewa Falls spun, drawing an amber. When racing resumed Marcus Dunbar inherited the lead with Belland and Randall in hot pursuit. 

After another yellow racing resumed and Dunbar continued to receive heavy pressure from Belland and Randall, with Belland running low and Randall high. The top three remained in their spots through a flurry of yellows in the early going. 

Randall and Belland traded the lead after a lap eight amber, with the hometown ace pulling away from Randall by lap 11. The dry, slick track conditions played into Belland’s favor as the IMCA sportmod driver hugged the bottom groove.

A lap 13 yellow erased Belland’s advantage and when racing resumed Belland protected the bottom with Randall choosing the top side. Belland kept Randall and Ty Springer at bay the balance of the contest to collect the win and the $1,000 top prize. Springer wrested second away from Randall in the waning laps to take second. Randall finished third, followed by Michigan’s George Truscott and Jason Zdroik.

It was a classic duel of a pair of the Midwest’s finest scrapping in the stock feature, with Pulaski’s Rod “Hot Rod” Snellenberger from the IMCA stock car ranks and Randall, a standout in the WISSOTA street stock ranks. 

Snellenberger and Randall pulled away from the field midway through the contest to settle the score. Randall motored hard on the outside at the checkers but it was Snellenberger who pulled out the win in the caution-free contest. Both drivers pulled double duty as they also competed in the B Mod Shootout. 

Randall took second place money, followed by former Cowbell Street stock tour champion Kyle Genett of Auburndale, Sugar Camp’s Jason Eisel and Tomahawk’s Brandon Hakala.

For the second straight night of racing Tomahawk’s Keith Troutman captured the Pure Stock feature. Troutman ducked underneath Tristan Valeria with three laps to go to take the lead. Isabella Valeria claimed runner-up money at the pay window, followed by RhineĀ­lander’s James Melton, Dave Dishaw of Ontonagon, Mich., and hometown driver Ryan Brown.

Defending track champion Dylan Larsen of Shiocton captured the caution-free 600 Micro Sprint feature while Conover’s Blake Hartman led wire-to-wire on the way to victory in the Junior Sprint feature.

Racing resumes next Tuesday night, July 9. Racing action gets underway at 7:15 p.m. For more information email patzdroik@yahoo.com or call (715) 891-1870.


B Mod Shootout: First, Bruce Belland, Eagle River; second, Ty Springer, Eagle River; third, Jimmy Randall, Rice Lake.

Stock: First, Rod Snellenberger, Pulaski; second, Jimmy Randall, Rice Lake; third, Kyle Genett, Auburndale.

Pure Stock: First, Keith Troutman, Tomahawk; second, Isabella Valeria, Eagle River; third, James Melton, RhineĀ­lander.

4 Banger: First, Ashley Schoone, Gleason; second, Mark Schoone, Gleason; third, Kasey Gross, Gleason.

600 Micro Sprint: First,  Dylan Larsen, Shiocton; second, Tommie Jo Springer, Eagle River; third, Jordan Grabowski, Eagle River.

Junior Sprint: First,  Blake Hartman, Conover; second, Josh Nevoraski, Minocqua; third, Cole Stella, Minocqua.