The Great Northern Conference (GNC) has announced its 2019-’20 boys basketball all-conference team, including three players from Northland Pines.

Pines senior Ryan Peterson was a unanimous selection for the first team, while senior Joe Misina and freshman Nolan Lurvey received honorable mention.

Peterson led the conference in scoring with 277 points, averaging 23.1 points per game. He also led the conference with 36 3-points shots. He was fourth in rebounding with 79 in 12 games, good for 6.6 boards per game. He also had 27 assists.

Misina was eighth in the conference in scoring with 155 points, averaging 12.9 points per game. He also led the conference in free throw percentage, making 35 of 45 for 77.8%. He also had 60 rebounds.

Lurvey, as a freshman, was tossed into a point guard role by first-year coach Terry Klemett. Lurvey scored 127 points, averaging 10.6 per game, third highest for the Eagles. He also had 34 assists and 53 rebounds. He made 31 of 42 free throws for 73.8%, good for fifth in the conference. He was one of only two freshmen to receive GNC honors.

Joining Peterson on the first team were senior Justin Sullivan and junior Peyton Kuhn, both of Medford; senior Luke Spink of Mosinee; and senior Tanner Resch of Antigo. Kuhn and Spink also were unanimous selections. 

Second team players included junior Nevin Cornelius of Antigo; senior Mike Ouimette of Lakeland; junior Cyle Kowalski of Mosinee; and junior Quinn Lamers and senior Drake Martin, both of Rhinelander.

Receiving honorable mention with Misina and Lurvey were senior Alec Hotchkiss of Antigo; junior Alex Fortier and senior Collin Quade, both of Lakeland; freshman Logan Baumgartner, and seniors Onyi Ekwueme and Doug Way, all of Medford; junior Jake Placek of Mosinee; senior Peyton Erikson and junior Ross Skeen, both of Rhinelander; and junior Drew Bolder and senior Connor Dichsen, both of Tomahawk. 

Kuhn, a Medford junior, was named the GNC Player of the Year as he led Medford to a 12-0 record. He scored 231 points, second to Peterson of Pines. He was fourth in the GNC in steals with 29 and fifth for 3-pointers at 27.

Medford coach Ryan Brown was named Coach of the Year.

Medford won the conference at 12-0, followed by Mosinee at 9-3 and Northland Pines in third at 6-6. Rhinelander also was 6-6, but the Eagles beat the Hodags twice during the season.  Antigo placed fifth at 4-8, followed by Lakeland also at 4-8 and Tomahawk at 1-11.