It was a rough weekend and a good weekend for Wisconsin Badger football fans. 

First, the bad news.

Wisconsin roared into the Big Ten Championship Game jumping out to a dominating first-half lead Saturday night, but a third-quarter flurry saw Ohio State rally back to claim the Big Ten title 34-21.

Wisconsin, making its Big Ten-leading sixth appearance in the title match, turned in an impressive performance early on and scored the first 14 points — Ohio State’s largest deficit of the season thanks to Wisconsin’s aggressive play-calling. The Badgers led 21-7 at the half with hope building for a potential upset of the 13-0 and top-ranked Buckeyes.

The halftime break provided Ohio State with an opportunity to regroup however and the team took full advantage and coasted to the 13-point victory.

Now the good news.

For the 10th time in school history and the fourth time in this decade, the Wisconsin Badgers are playing in the Rose Bowl Game. Coming off a 10-win regular season that included the Big Ten West Division title and earned them a No. 8 ranking in the final College Football Playoff poll, the Badgers will face No. 6 Oregon, the 2019 Pac-12 champions.

The game is a rematch of the 2012 Rose Bowl Game that went down to the final seconds with Oregon winning, 45-38. This year’s game will take place on Wednesday, Jan. 1, at 4 p.m. (CT) and be televised by ESPN.

Paul Chryst is the fifth Wisconsin coach to guide his club to a Rose Bowl berth — joining Ivy Williamson in 1952; Milt Bruhn in 1959 and ’62; Barry Alvarez in 1993, ’98 and ’99; and Bret Bielema in 2010, ’11 and ’12 — but is the first former Badgers player to do so.

Alvarez, now the Wisconsin director of athletics, is in the Rose Bowl Hall of Fame (2009). So is Alan Ameche (2004), Ron Dayne (2011), Pat Richter (1994) and Ron Vander Kelen (1991).

The matchup with Oregon is a throwback to Jan. 2, 2012, when the Badgers, led by quarterback Russell Wilson and All-America running back Montee Ball, lost an up-tempo shootout 45-38.

This time, the Badgers will likely count on running back Jonathon Taylor, quarterback Jack Coan and receiver Quintez Cephus to lead the charge on offense. Taylor is the only back in Football Bowl Subdivision history to amass 6,000 rushing yards in just three seasons. Defensively, linebackers Jack Sanborn, Zack Baun and Chris Orr will be counted on to stop the Ducks.

Rose Bowl Game ticket orders from the general public can be made online at, over the phone by calling 1.800.GO.BADGERS or in person at the Wisconsin Athletic Ticket Office beginning at noon on Tuesday, Dec. 10, subject to availability.

There’s nothing better than watching the Badgers in the Rose Bowl on New Years Day!