The 104th annual Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association (WIAA) Boys Basketball State Tournament will take place this Thursday-Saturday, March 14-16, at the Kohl Center on the campus of the University of Wisconsin in Madison.

The single-elimination tournament features a five-division format with four teams qualifying in each of the five divisions. This is the first year the State tournament is seeded. The coaches of the qualifying teams in each division determined the seeds.

For those heading to Madison, ticket prices for the tourney are $10 per session (two games in a session) for all seating purchased at the Kohl Center. Ticket windows are available one hour prior to the start of any session. Tickets are available online for $12.

The State Tournament will be televised live on WAOW-TV in Wausau and WYOW-TV in Eagle River. The championships will also be streamed on the statewide network station websites. 

The State Tournament kicks off Thursday, March 14, with Division 3 semifinal games. No. 1 Martin Luther (23-3) will play No. 4 Northwestern (21-5) at 1:35 p.m., followed by No. 2 Waupun (25-1) against No. 3 Denmark (22-4). Then in Division 4, No. 1 Roncalli (26-0) faces No. 4 New Glarus (24-2) at 6:35 p.m., followed by No. 2 Lourdes Academy (25-1) against No. 3 Osseo-Fairchild (24-2).

The action turns to Division 5 Friday morning as No. 1 Sheboygan Lutheran (25-2) plays No. 4 McDonell Catholic (18-9) at 9:05 a.m., followed by No. 2 Columbus Catholic (25-2) facing No. 3 Bangor (25-1). In Division 2, No. 1 Nicolet (25-1) plays No. 4 Elkhorn (23-3) at 1:35 p.m., followed by No. 2 Milwaukee Washington (21-5) against No. 3 La Crosse Central (24-2). The Division 1 semifinals will see No. 1 Brookfield Central (21-5) meeting No. 4 Neenah (19-7) at 6:35 p.m., followed by No. 2 West Allis Central (22-3) against No. 3 Sun Prairie (20-6). 

All State championship games will be played Saturday, following a 3-Point Challenge at 9:30 a.m. The Division 5 title game will be at 11:05 a.m., followed by the Division 4 and Division 3 championship games. The Division 2 title game will be at 6:35 p.m., followed by the Division 1 championship game.

The first WIAA State Boys Basketball Tournament was held in 1916. This will be the 22nd year the Kohl Center has hosted the championships since moving from the UW Field House in 1998. The tournament featured a one-class format until 1934 when, for two years (1934-35), there were two classes. From 1936 until 1939, the tournament increased to three classes, and then returned to the one class format in 1940. 

A one-class tourney prevailed until 1972, when it again became a two-class event. The tourney went to three classes again in 1974 and remained that way until a four-division format was adopted in 1991. The 2011 State Tournament introduced the first five-division format and qualifying four teams from each division. 

Good luck to all the teams.