The Eagle River/Northland Pines High School Athletic Hall of Fame is seeking nominations for future inductees, the committee has announced. 

The Hall of Fame, established in 2003, recognizes persons who have contributed or excelled in high school, college and/or professional sports, and includes athletes, coaches and other citizens of the Northland Pines School District who have contributed to the sports program.

A 12-member committee developed the Hall of Fame with John Wainwright, a former football coach and teacher at Pines, leading the group. Other committee members are Jerry Burkett, Tom Obrodovich, Brian Margelofsky, Chris Oatman, Ken Kluever, Tom Drusch­ke, Larry Favorite, Larry Snedden, Tom Dunphy and myself.

“The idea behind the hall is to recognize some of the great athletes and coaches who have gone through the school including the former Eagle River High School,” said Wainwright. “We also want to recognize the person who maybe didn’t play or coach here, but was an outstanding contributor to the sports image of Eagle River and Northland Pines High School.”

Once a person is nominated, the name will remain on the list for future consideration into the Hall of Fame. Wainwright said the committee is particularly interested in hearing about coaches and players from the 1940s, ’50s, ’60s and ’70s.

The Hall of Fame induction ceremonies are held annually, prior to a Northland Pines home football game in the fall. The inductees also are recognized at halftime and a social gathering that follows the game. Each inductee receives a plaque and one also will be placed in the high school.

The first class was inducted Oct. 3, 2003. Since that time, many individuals and several teams have been inducted into the Hall of Fame. Their plaques hang in the hallway adjacent to the Northland Pines High School field house and commons area. 

The 17th annual induction was held Aug. 30. Inductees included athletes Woody Ahlborn (1983) and Jonathon Maines (1983) along with Northland Pines sports backer Joe Bucher. The three were joined by five members of the state champion 1,600- and 800-meter relay teams including Shawn Gremban, Jean Kaczkowski, Kim Morton, Chelle Dillahunt and Sara Siegmeier. 

The Eagle River/Northland Pines High School Athletic Hall of Fame committee is always looking for additional sponsors to support the program. The fees are $100 for corporate sponsorship and $25 for individual sponsorship. Fees can be sent to Wainwright, Eagle River/Northland Pines Athletic Hall of Fame, 1100 Drager Road, Eagle River, WI 54521.

To nominate an athlete, coach or citizen for the Hall of Fame, call Wainwright at (715) 482-9803.