The Eagle River/Northland Pines High School ­Athletic Hall of Fame Committee announced it will induct two standout athletes, a supporter of Northland Pines athletic programs and two State Champion relay teams Friday, Aug. 30.

The athletes to be inducted are Woody Ahlborn, who graduated from Pines in 1983 and earned 10 letters in football, basketball and track; and 1983 graduate Jonathan Maines, who lettered in football, basketball and track. Joe Bucher will be inducted in the citation category as a long-time supporter of Northland Pines athletics. The two State Champion relay teams from 1985 included Sean Gremban, Jean Kaczkowski, Kim Morton and Chelle Dillahunt in the 1,600-meter relay, and Gremban, Kaczkowski, Dillahunt and Sara Siegmeier in the 800-meter relay.

Ahlborn earned Lumberjack Conference all-conference football honors on both offensive and defensive positions his senior year and was named to the 1982 Hall of Fame football team. He also was an all-district player and received all-state recognition. After high school, he attended UW-River Falls and played four years on a team that won Wisconsin State University Conference titles in 1984, 1985 and 1986.

Maines, who played quarterback, led the Eagles to a 10-0 record and a Lumberjack Conference championship in football his junior year, along with a playoff win against Little Chute. He was named first team all-conference and honorable mention Channel 7 All-Star. In college, Maines played football at UW-River Falls and UW-Eau Claire, where he lettered three seasons as a defensive back. 

Bucher has been involved with Northland Pines Youth Football and Cheerleading from its inception in 1994, when the Northern Wisconsin Pop Warner Football Federation started as a youth program in Eagle River. Bucher was a charter sponsor. Since then, he has supported youth sports in the area, including hosting the annual Bucher Blues Fest which raises thousands of dollars each year for youth sports.

The five members of the Northland Pines 1,600- and 800-meter State Champion relay teams will be inducted as a team, recognizing their accomplishment at the 1985 WIAA State Track and Field Championships. 

The hall of fame committee invites friends, classmates, teammates and family members of all inductees to the hall of fame induction ceremony set for Friday, Aug. 30, prior to the Northland Pines football game against Lakeland. The induction ceremony will start at 4:30 p.m. in the auditorium, followed by the game at 7 p.m.

The Eagle River/Northland Pines High School Athletic Hall of Fame always seeks donations to cover the expenses of the ceremony and plaques. Sponsorship fees are $100 for corporations and $25 for individuals. All corporate sponsors will be recognized at the ceremony and in the program. Sponsorships can be mailed to Tom Dunphy, P.O. Box 1074, Eagle River, WI 54521. For more information, contact John Wainwright at (715) 482-9803.